Reviews

What people are saying about Prince Hall




holiday - Rating 5/5

just a lovely place to be not to hectic and food very good thankyou.

Reviewer:S | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Peace and quiet on Dartmoor - Rating 5/5

A couple of days ago Jill and I returned from our fourth stay at Prince Hall.We were there several weeks ago with our beloved Labrador girl Poppy and new Labrador girl Ruby.Our latest visit was somewhat bittersweet as we lost Poppy suddenly and unexpectedly just three weeks ago.That said, we received the usual warm welcome and enjoyed the comfort of our room Yestor in which we have stayed before.As always, breakfast was enough to keep us going through the day and dinner was its usual culinary excellence.All the staff did their utmost to make our stay a pleasant and happy one as they always do and Ruby was made to feel welcome.When we visit Prince Hall we feel we are visiting old friends such is the nature of the place.It is extremely dog friendly and an ideal location for walking with a dog.

Reviewer:G G | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Our mini moon - Rating 4/5

We had a wonderful stay at Prince Hall Hotel, the staff are so helpful and polite. Dogs are made very welcome and everything you could possibly need for our little 4 legged friends. The breakfast was great quality ingredients, cream teas are our favourite. Will be back again soon.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs E | Mon 27th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Relaxing as always- Rating 5/5

Relaxing as always. Hound Tor was a lovely, large, light room with beautiful moorland views and plenty of space for us and our little dog- Lily. Food as always was excellent. Hope to see you again 😊

Reviewer:Tom S | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


heaven on earth - Rating 5/5

We spent a wonderful short break - which proved much too short - everything was just fantastic, gorgeous and heavenly. We felt thoroughly spoilt by the way we were made welcome. Thank you so much and a big cuddle to your lovely dogs - and, would those people who do not love dogs please stay away.

Reviewer:Ehrlinger R | Fri 10th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Prince Hall Hotel - Rating 4/5

We had a thouroughly enjoyable relaxing stay, with good food and accomodation, Thank you.We will be back

Reviewer:S | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

Great place, great food, great staff. Nice, quite and clean. Realy a place to visit if you are in Dartmoor

Reviewer:Anders K | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Great place to stay with or without dogs - Rating 5/5

This is a friendly hotel with good rooms. The breakfast was great.The best thing was the welcoming of dogs. The hotel is situated in a superb area of Dartmoor. Enjoyed it so much we will return with our Bernese Mountain Dogs. Paul.

Reviewer:Paul M | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Great for pooches - Rating 4/5

Hotel is nice location big rooms and great for dogs. Staff really friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

Reviewer:James F | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Great hospitality in pure Dartmoor surroundings- Rating 5/5

Just spent 3 wonderful days soaking up Dartmoor sights and sounds in an old world setting. The plumbing is a bit quirky but more than compensated by the warm welcome, stunning views and excellent food. Being located in the centre of Dartmoor it is ideally placed to explore the moor especially if you enjoy walking

Reviewer:Chris and Anthea L | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Tranquil setting- Rating 5/5

Lovely place set in the middle of the Moor. Very quiet. Good walking straight from the hotel. Big comfy bed. Dog friendly. Lovely Guinea fowl and gratin dauphinoise

Reviewer:Susan M | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Fab Fab Fab - Rating 5/5

Chris Sam Luke and James you gave us a wonderful break at Prince Hall. Stress free and relaxing. Dogs enjoyed themselves too. Food excellent and we can't wait for our next visit. It's a marvellous home from home and we love it.

Reviewer:K & J G | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


2 lovelydays in the Dartmoor - Rating 5/5

This hotel is really a treasure in the middle of the Wonderfull sceneries of the Dartmoor :magnificent trees, never-ending fields with sheep, cows and a bit farest horses and fascinating tors ! many walks are indicated through guides and copies you can take with you ! meals are really delicious and service very kind ! just one important precision :do be dog friendly !!

Reviewer:Claire B | Wed 11th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Dartmoor Hotel - Rating 4/5

Prince Hall Hotel is rather old fashioned in a pleasant way. We found a warm welcome, pleasant and efficient staff, a comfortable room (Houndtor) and atmospheric surroundings with wonderful vistas and walking high up in the middle of Dartmoor. A full menu and well stocked bar and wine cellar but very limited choice of wine by the glass.Easy road trips to the South Hams, Tiverton market and several NT properties.Our satnav got confused with all the farm tracks off the road so look for the hotel sign at the road entrance.Overall we give a 4 star rating.

Reviewer:Robin A | Thu 5th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Dartmoor bliss - Rating 4/5

We loved staying at the prince hall hotel it was the perfect location for exploring beautiful DartmoorThe room was perfect with lots of character and very cleanWe didn’t eat at the hotel on the evening but had breakfast and it was very well presented and delicious, we spoke to other guests who had the evening meal and they all said it was fantasticThe staff were all very friendly and helpful and sitting out in the garden with a chilled glass of wine was bliss and we will definitely be backThank you for a lovely timeSteve and Cher

Reviewer:Steven W | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Lunch rendezvous with friends & overnight stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely dog friendly, comfortable hotel with a great atmosphere hidden away in a beautiful peaceful location. Nice big room, very friendly staff &excellent food. We were lucky enough to experience very good weather &dine al fresco taking full advantage of the stunning views. Highly recommend &hope to return

Reviewer:R K | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Friendly quiet hotel - Rating 5/5

Terrific room with very comfortable bed and great views.Breakfast excellent.Staff lovely.

Reviewer:Peter S | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Another great stay - Rating 5/5

As ever, an excellent stay at Prince Hall.A homely hotel in a superb location with excellent food.The staff are all friendly and very helpful;particular mention should go to Sam the receptionist and Chris the owner.

Reviewer:Mr Chris U | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Review of Hotel - Rating 4/5

Room good - food certainly different - welcome very good - staff very kind

Reviewer:R | Sun 24th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Best nights sleep in a long time!- Rating 5/5

This is a fantastic hotel!I will definitely be a regular and I have told other colleagues about this absolute gem of a place!The food was sensational and the room was extremely comfortable. It was the best nights sleep I have had in ages!See you again very soon!

Reviewer:Chloe F | Thu 21st Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


What a lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, staff very attentive but not intrusive. Our room was upgraded which was lovely. Breakfast was delicious and a very high standard. Lovely to have dogs at the hotel. We liked it so much that we booked a stay as a gift for our Dad for his 70th birthday later in the year.

Reviewer:Linda K | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Lovely location, very warm reception, great breakfast.

Reviewer:L | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Lovely peaceful location and relaxed hotel - Rating 4/5

we enjoyed our stay very much. the location is superb. The area is beautiful and also has a sense of peace and tranquility. The views from the bar and restaurant are excellent and there are lovely walks from the front door. It's a great base for exploring lovely areas of Dartmoor nearby. The hotel itself is friendly and relaxed - we found all the staff warm and both professional but also relaxed. It is not at all pretentious as a hotel, with a down to earth feel. The room was large and good for our needs. Yes, there are a few details that in a more modern or posh hotel might be different - the water flow in the showers and the tv reception are a little temperamental. But no problem for us. The whole place has an approachable, accommodating and slightly quirky feel which was perfect for us. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner in the restaurant fine - if not remarkable. The G&Ts are highly recommended. All in all we would be happy to stay here again.

Reviewer:tim m | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Peaceful, relaxing, delicious food plus a warm welcome for Stan the dog! - Rating 5/5

We felt so relaxed at Prince Hall. Wonderful food and everybody was very welcoming.Stan the dog loved it and didn't want to get in the car to return home! Sitting outside in the early evening sunshine with a Dartmoor Papillon gin and tonic, beautiful view and the sound of the river and sheep will be a treasured memory. Thank you!

Reviewer:Paul and Helen B | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


A much needed break - Rating 5/5

A quiet restful break at a very difficult time for us .As usual Chris and his team did more than expected to make our stay a welcome getaway from the trials and tribulations of everyday life.Congratulations to you all, as always an excellent had by us both and the dogs !

Reviewer:T C | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Nice hotel - Rating 4/5

Excellent secluded and quiet location. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Water pressure for shower is not good, you are warned of this. Best rooms are at rear of hotel if you want a nice view. Food is excellent, both breakfast and dinner. Staff are very friendly and obliging. If you are looking for a 'real' small hotel with a bit of character (rather than a larger modern chain-type hotel) this is for you. Very dog-friendly too if that is important to you.

Reviewer:Michael B | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Heaven- Rating 5/5

As a party of three generations, this was our 3rd year visiting this special place and we're determined to make it back again next year. The hotel is the most relaxing place, with such friendly staff and owners - and gorgeous dogs too! So well behaved. The food is fabulous - two of us are vegetarian and there was plenty for us to choose from and they accommodated our 10yr old's love of pasta. The cream tea is the best I've ever had too. It's a little slice of heaven, looking out across the Moor;we never want to leave!

Reviewer:Monique H | Sat 2nd Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Another great 5-star stay - Rating 5/5

A most enjoyable and relaxing stay at our favourite Dartmoor hotel. Comfortable and in a beautiful location with friendly staff, great food and wine, and our dog loves it too. What more could we ask for?

Reviewer:Mr I C | Mon 28th May 2018 | 4 months ago


Charming- Rating 5/5

Gorgeous hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff were lovely and the food divine. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Alice B | Mon 28th May 2018 | 4 months ago


A very welcoming overnight stop - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome, a very comfortable room wwith an excellent dinner and breakfast. Couldn't ask for much more from a fleeting visit

Reviewer:Richard B | Sat 26th May 2018 | 4 months ago


Best ukholiday for some time - Rating 5/5

Very relaxing holiday superb food and fantastic staff especially Sam and Lark. Thank you for everything, see you very soon.

Reviewer:Derek B | Thu 24th May 2018 | 4 months ago


Excellent service !- Rating 5/5

With great views, friendly staff that deliver excellent service consistently in very comfortable surroundings. The best breakfastI’ve had in a long time. Prince Hall is definitely not to be missed!

Reviewer:Joanne C | Mon 21st May 2018 | 4 months ago


Wonderful holiday with my dog - Rating 5/5

Spent several days here and joined by two friends for two of them.From my arrival until leaving I was very impressed by the welcome and attention by all the staff, including the three hotel dogs who not only welcomed me but also my dogEverything done here is to make my stay very memorableThe bedroom which I hadwas large with the comfiest bed I have slept in and a fantastic view over the moorsFood was excellent with everything cooked to orderVery comfy lounge and sitting outside in the sun with lovely viewsFar enough out on it’s own so that you neither see or hear any trafficCertainly somewhere we will be going back to

Reviewer:Chris A | Thu 17th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Fabulous as always - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Prince Hall many times over the last 10 years. It is a haven where we enjoy the finest food, are taken care of by an amazing team who we now regard as friends and the hotel is truly dog friendly. For us, it is the perfect place, in a great location, to enjoy a wonderful relaxing holiday.

Reviewer:C | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Best Place for dogs, walks and peace - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable hotel with friendly staff fantastic location and the welcome for dogs is brilliant

Reviewer:Jenny B | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Our favourite place - Rating 5/5

This is the second time ive stayed with my dog, Bert, at the wonderful Prince Hall and it really is our favourite place to be.The service is amazing, the food some of the best ive eaten and the hotel manages to feel luxurious whilst being super dog friendly and relaxed.I coukd go on and on. The setting is perfect with great walks from the door, the rooms so comfortable with more than the average 'little extras' to leave one feeling really spoiled.Bert and I will definitely be back to 'our favourite place' before long.Thank you!

Reviewer:R T | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

What a lovely stay, and the staff could not have been more attentive. Thick snow during March did not detract from our stay at this very comfortable and characterful house.

Reviewer:Matthew B | Sat 24th Mar 2018 | 6 months ago


Prince Hall Hotel, Two Bridges - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable hotel in beautiful, beautiful surroundings with good food and particularly charming hosts.Our visit was all too short.

Reviewer:Dudley R | Wed 14th Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


mr and mrs - Rating 4/5

good experience as usual staff excellent food fine we will return

Reviewer:G | Sun 11th Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


Snowed in - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful experience Dartmoor in the snow, unfortunately the only bit we got to see was around the Hall, walking down to the river and up to the road was all that could be managed. Did this ruin the stay no way, Chris pulled out all of the stop caterer excellently for breakfast, lunch and tea, nothing was too much and the standard never drop one little bit. So anytime of year you want to experience The Moors Prince Hall is unbeatable, we will be returning and look forward to it.

Reviewer:Mr. Shane P | Mon 5th Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


Friendliest Staff that i have ever encountered - Rating 5/5

Our anniversary stay was wonderful. The meal in the evening was exceptional. Both human and animals were made welcome. I am not the easiest of guests and nothing was too much trouble . Although we live less than an hour away we will definately be coming back and advising our friends to do the same - although not too many of them or we wont get a booking xxx

Reviewer:Nicola B | Thu 22nd Feb 2018 | 7 months ago


Great- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with really friendly staff ,great rooms and fantastic views !Dog friendly as well, which is a bonus

Reviewer:Antoni N | Thu 22nd Feb 2018 | 7 months ago


Excellent- Rating 4/5

We had a wonderful relaxing stay, with excellent food and a a very comfortable room, thank you

Reviewer:Yvonne Van B | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 8 months ago


Retreat - Rating 4/5

Excellent retreat, wonderful views, friendly efficient staff. Food delicious, full English breakfastfab.

Reviewer:Wendy D | Fri 2nd Feb 2018 | 8 months ago


Fantastic break! - Rating 5/5

What an amazing place. Beautiful location on the moor, great Manor House, really friendly staff and out of this world food! Never been to a better place to chill out, walk and enjoy the food. Oh and our dog buddy was pretty impressed! We’ll be back.

Reviewer:Mike K | Thu 18th Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


A peaceful stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely peaceful stay. Our room was very comfortable, and the lounge and bar areas were also a great place to relax. We had a wonderful walk along the moor and river, straight from the hotel. All staff were very friendly and we were served a delicious breakfast. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Nicola R | Sun 14th Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


Fantastic weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time staying at Princehall. It was a very cosy place to be as the wind howled outside. The staff went above and beyond to ensure we left with very fond memories of our stay at Princehall. Thankyou so much.

Reviewer:Sarah A | Mon 8th Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


Excellent dog friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Prince Hall Hotel several times and each time we have been impressed with the friendly staff and the fact they go out of their way to make us and our 4 dogs feel welcome. We look forward to returning in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. JuliaChapman| Mon 8th Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


Christmas at Prince Hall - Rating 4/5

Both myself and Rosi enjoyed our stay with you. However just a couple of things we both would like to comment on. Firstly on Christmas eve and Christmas lunch much more atmosphere would have been created earlier in our stay if all of the guests were in the dining room together rather than in two rooms. I took it on myself to ask everyone to be in the dining room for Boxing day evening which was very successful. Secondly it would be great if you could sort out the pluming so that we could experience a good shower rather than having to "make do".Having said all that the views from our bedroom window as perfect and the food was excellent with a good selection of wine on offer.

Reviewer:P | Tue 2nd Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


A most pleasurable stay - Rating 5/5

The surrounds are beautiful, the views from the rooms picturesque, the meals were excellent and the bed very comfortable.

Reviewer:David W | Sun 17th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


A haven on Dartmoor - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable hotel.All staff are extremely friendly and helpful and can't be faulted.Owner Chris and receptionist Sam deserve particular praise.We will definitely return.

Reviewer:Mr Chris U | Sat 16th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


a few days at Prince Hall - Rating 5/5

We were recommended as it seems were others staying were. The day before, there were huge storms that brought travel problems and we got a call from the hotel saying there was an issue with the boiler - would we like to postpone. We agreed to go. Somehow we never saw the impact and ended up in a lovely room overlooking the moors with a brilliant view. Then we were given probably the best Devon cream scone in the whole world. Dinner was good with the Hake having properly crispy skin. Cooked breakfast was so good I had it 4 times running. In particular the wild caught mushrooms were so meaty and full of flavour. The place is properly dog friendly with loads of doggy towels to help cope with the dreadful weather we had. The area around Two Bridges is truly lovely with good walks. Gets 9 stars from us.

Reviewer:M | Fri 15th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


A reply good place to stay with your dog - Rating 5/5

A truly welcoming dog friendly hotel with lovely staff, delicious food and warm rooms.We visited in December. For 3 nights we stayed in "Yestor"which is a large, bright room with en suite bathroom (bath with overhead shower) and terrific views across the Moorland. There is a generous open fire in the lounge and two places to eat. A rustic, no nonsense bar in which your dog is welcome and a more formal restaurant.Willdefinitely visit again.

Reviewer:C | Tue 12th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


Relaxed and Refreshed - Rating 5/5

A short break in a very relaxing and friendly hotel.A cosy atmosphere in very pleasant area of the Moor .Good food well presented.Very dog friendly .Making plans for a return inthe new year.

Reviewer:k M | Mon 4th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


Amazing- Rating 5/5

Absolutely love this place and cannot recommend it enough, the staff are fanatastic and cannot do enough for you. Doggies are made to feel so welcome. The food is fantastic too. We will definitely return next year. A lovely touch to be upgraded to a moor view room this time

Reviewer:Marie G | Sat 2nd Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


Walking heaven. - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely three days with you. Weather threw everything it had at us but we still enjoyed our walks. Remember this is Dartmoor. Food was very good and plentiful just what you need after a few hours on the moor. Staff friendly and the log fire and dogs were the icing on the cake. We will be returning.

Reviewer:S W | Wed 29th Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


It was perfect- Rating 5/5

My wife and I + our two dogs had a really lovely time . Prince Hall has a relaxing atmosphere . The food is 1st class as is the service . Nothing is to much trouble for the staff . Our room was ideal and cosy with , a lovely view over the moor . We will be back very soon to sit in front of the log fire .

Reviewer:K C | Wed 29th Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


Stay with you - Rating 5/5

Again a wonderful stay with you. We and doggies loved it. Stayed in houndtor a beautiful large room, with great moorland views....Food exquisite...particularly the venison . Staff so helpful, nothing too much problem Can’t wait to come back. Thank you

Reviewer:Timothy B | Wed 29th Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


lovely night away - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel. Beautiful location. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfy.

Reviewer:Sheri H | Mon 27th Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


Fabulous- Rating 5/5

Again a wonderful stay with you. We and doggies loved it. Stayed in houndtor a beautiful large room, with great moorland views....Food exquisite...particularly the venison . Staff so helpful, nothing too much problem Can’t wait to come back. Thank you

Reviewer:Timothy B | Mon 27th Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


A lovely place to stay. - Rating 4/5

The hotel was well signposted and I had no trouble finding it.On arrival I was shown the room and delighted to find had been upgraded.Bed was very comfortable, with high quality linen. The evening meal was very tasty, although the food was on the expensive side.Packed lunch the following day was delicious.A lovely place to stay - quiet and set in idyllic countryside.Thank you.

Reviewer:Debbie P | Sun 26th Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


Latest visit to Dartmoof - Rating 5/5

Another delightful stay, warm and cosy with superb food. One could not find a more relaxed atmosphere. A credit to Chris and the whole team. Our dogs are made as welcome as us !Congratulations.Trevor &VivienCherry

Reviewer:T C | Wed 22nd Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


Love the place - Rating 5/5

Prince hall is lovely. The setting is perfect. The food is excellent as is the staff. Even doing the wi-fi wander becomes fun and in actual fact in this day of electronic access at all times its good for ones being to be away from all that. The morning stroll down the drive and on to the moor works up one's appetite for breakfast.So if you are after peace and somewhere away from it all to recharge this is the one, really treat yourselves it will be worth it.

Reviewer:Mr B B | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Home from home with excellent food and the best service. - Rating 5/5

After a new year stay some years ago Prince Hall has become our favourite escape. Only an hours drive from home, if we want a break Prince Hall offers a comfortable venue with excellent knowledgable staff to meet ones smallest need. Dogs are welcomed with open arms and much care is taken to provide for the owner ( towels to dry your hound, water bowls, treats etc) keen to visit the wonderful countryside that surrounds the Hotel. The menus are varied and the food excellently cooked and presented, the wine lists are similarly varied and very reasonably priced. I have yet to find a better full English in any hotel! The Rooms that we have had have been well appointed and the beds large and comfortable. If you fancy a cream tea by a crackling fire, after a walk with the dog, with an excellent dinner .... do give it a try.

Reviewer:Mr RC B | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Recharged on the moon. - Rating 5/5

This is little bit of heaven,nicely secluded.The owners were warm and welcoming.the meals we had we're delicious and made our stay a delight. We walked and mountain biked and even escaped for a fell run before breakfast.Thank you

Reviewer:Clive S | Fri 3rd Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Yet another fantastic stay at this hotel - Rating 5/5

This was my third visit to the hotel. The atmosphereand feel of the hotel is lovely. My dog just loves it here. Food as always outstanding.

Reviewer:Joanna R | Tue 31st Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


Prince Hall Hotel - Rating 4/5

Excellent food, a very comfortable bed and a really nice room made our stay there quite pleasant, but the staff could do more to make their guests feel at "home away from home". We found the other guests staying there friendlier and chattier then some members of staff.

Reviewer:Marinko B | Sun 29th Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


The Spinones friend - Rating 5/5

We always have a good time at Prince Hall. The staff are, without exception, friendly and welcoming. The catering is excellent and the bedrooms comfortable , clean and spacious. And our humans love it too! Mocha and Latte.

Reviewer:Gillian Lawford D | Wed 18th Oct 2017 | 12 months ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent 2 night stay to meet up with friends. Brilliant, friendly staff, superb food, lovely rooms, marvellous views.

Reviewer:B | Fri 6th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Another wonderful stay at the Prince Hall - Rating 5/5

This our favourite hotel on Dartmoor. Our stay last week was great - warm and comfortable surroundings and friendly efficient staff plussuper food and wine. All this and dog friendly too - what more could we ask for!?

Reviewer:C | Mon 2nd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Best hotel.on the planet - Rating 5/5

If you want a quiet hotel and are a Dog owner this is is the place. Staff were second to none and the rooosare great

Reviewer:Mr Antony W | Mon 2nd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Good situated place, beautiful room, excellent meals and friendly service

Reviewer:Christoph S | Sun 24th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Beautiful- Rating 5/5

What an amazing place:beautiful hotel;beautiful surroundings;exquisite food;highly professional and friendly staff. The best weekend EVER!

Reviewer:James M | Tue 19th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Always a warm welcome- Rating 5/5

Firstly we find Prince Hall in a lovely place at the end of an ancient beech drive with some of the best views across the moor one can imagine . The staff are lovely without exception. The beds are comfortable we especially like those rooms with a moor view. Now we come to the food ! It delights . Good choice of wines not too dear. Very dog friendly . A bit like staying in your own country house with staff. It's a place away from the madding crowd.

Reviewer:H | Tue 19th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


one night stay - Rating 4/5

Having stayed here numerous times have noticed various changes but this last time for the better.AS usual very dog friendly.Excellent menu for evening meal and food goodComfortable room Haytor - beautiful moor views -could do with one more comfy chairSlept well in huge comfortable bedGood selection at breakfast (fried eggs now not too overcooked!) and will definitely like to stay again - for us it is a great break en route to Cornwall.Many thanks staff very welcoming and would hope to stop over again in DecemberBest wishes Dave, Jennie and little Rusty

Reviewer:E | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

I Highly recommend staying here if you want to be in the middle of Dartmoor. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.The food was delicious and the breakfasts superb (the mushrooms, for breakfast, were the best I have ever eaten).

Reviewer:Katie R | Thu 14th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


? - Rating 5/5

I've been travelling 2 the Moor since 2004 and always wanted 2 stay @Prince Hall! Now I will stay @P H everytime when I come 2 the Moor! It was fab! Everything:from greeting, food, room, ambiance, friendlyness till check-out! Thxs!

Reviewer:Ms. Ann F | Mon 11th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely Hotel, peaceful surroundings- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay. The hotel has gorgeous views,our room was clean and very comfortable. The staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Katharine G | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent venue for a rural break! - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Prince Hall Hotel very much. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the room was very well-appointed with lovely moorland views.The hotel was also extremely dog friendly!

Reviewer:P | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Splendiforous venue with outstanding food - Rating 5/5

This was our third visit and we will be back!The setting is magnificent, views across Dartmoor to die for, and dogs made most welcome.The owners' pottery is definitely worth a look and buy.A splendid break which we will be repeating and recommending everybody to give it a try.

Reviewer:Nigel M | Sun 3rd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Highly recommend! - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from three blissful days at Prince Hall Hotel and would highly recommend a stay there.The hotel is situated in the most idyllic countryside in the heart of Dartmoor and on our next visit we will definitely pay more for one of the rooms 'with a view' - we booked quite late and were only able to get a side view room.However, it was spacious and comfortable with high quality bed linen and a large bathroom. The staff are helpful and friendly and the local walks from the hotel door are varied and stunning.We were very impressed (and I would say we have quite demanding standards) by the quality of the food both at breakfast and dinner, all of which were well prepared and beautifully presented and the scones with the cream teas were the best we have ever tasted anywhere! Most visitors seemed to have dogs staying too and they are welcomed as much as their human counterparts which is not always the case. We will certainly be returning and recommending the hotel to all our friends!

Reviewer:S | Thu 31st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


GREAT PLACE - Rating 5/5

What a welcoming place. Espicially if you have dogs. Its a paradise. Amazing friendly young folks always willing to assist. The food eas a delight. We will return

Reviewer:Nelson u | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


89th BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION! - Rating 5/5

Our stay was a delightful experience:a wonderful hotel, with the best staff I'v ever come across in my life, and the food was excellent.We hope to return again soon.

Reviewer:Prof. E | Thu 24th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


One night on Dartmoor! - Rating 5/5

A very doggy, faded splendour of a hotel, with lovely staff, great breakfasts and views over the awesome moor to die for. (Weather was tempestuous and all the better for it.) if you like the moors you will love this hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian H | Sun 20th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


What an excellent place! - Rating 5/5

Nothing to much the staff happy and helpful food to the highest standard. Beautiful surroundings. Rooms very comfortable. I can think of nowhere better to stay in any part of the country. We will be returning again and again. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Shane P | Sun 20th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Very happy stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a lovely time in this very comfortable and friendly hotel. Lovely to be welcomed with dog too!Thank you, we will be back

Reviewer:G | Sun 20th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Tranquil, beautiful, exceptional - Rating 5/5

I found this gorgeous looking country hotel whilst researching places in Devon on the way to Cornwall.Reviews were understandably very high and it's easy to tell why once you arrive.Set in the heart of Dartmoor, the winding roads and tree arched country paths secluded this wonderful hotel.A big soppy dog greets you but has no interest in helping with your bags. They require tips however in the form of fuss and strokes.It is soon apparent why a hotel would garner such high public ratings when meeting the friendly and helpful staff.Escorted to the lounge we enjoyed a quiet drink by the underimposing fire crackled in the background. People enjoyed their afternoon tea while we sat and read taking in the truly wonderful vista of green stalling hillside, giant trees and a stone bridge.The room was lovely, big comfy bed, old fashioned fixtures and fittings with all the mod cons we require. There was a television but it was unnecessary as there was more interesting things to view in and out the hotel.Where The Prince Hall really shines is its food service and quality. Sensing the high level, I opted to have the sausage and mash, my wife the fillet steak. The fillet came out like a melted stick of butter, soft, tender, juicy. Presented beautifully as is all the food (including the best full English I may ever have eaten). The sausage and mash was gorgeous. Far from your bog standard bangers and mash, the potatoes bit with a gentle hit of wholegrain mustard, the sausage burst with juice and flavour and the red wine jus was rich enough fill you up alone.In summary, one night was nowhere near enough time to experience this wonderful place. I wager that we will be back one day soon.A simply delightful experience made all the more by the smiling faces of the wonderful staff.Thank you to all at the Prince Hall Hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Brendan H | Tue 15th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Absolutely perfect! - Rating 5/5

Can't say more, a home from home, extremely laid back &fabulous to see so many well behaved four legged friends being made so welcome...ours included. Just lovely.

Reviewer:T | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful, cosy place - Rating 5/5

We selected Prince Hall for "welcoming our dog"but we would have loved staying even if we didn't bring ours. A pretty and cosy place, with very good food and absolutely great staff. Loved it!

Reviewer:BAS L | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Peace and tranquility - Rating 5/5

Returned yesterday from a superb 10 night break at Prince Hall hotel with Poppy, our six year old Labrador.On arrival we received a very warm welcome, as did Poopy.Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view of Dartmoor with sheep and cattle grazing.So peaceful.The hospitality staff are friendly and a credit to the hotel and the cuisine is really something.The Devon breakfast wiill keep you going for a long time.The hotel is full of character with open fires and lots of history.Dogs are very welcome.If you have one, or more, or none the hotel is worth a visit.

Reviewer:G | Thu 10th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Prince Hall Hotel - Rating 5/5

Our second stay;this time with a dog.As before very friendly and helpful staff, great ambience, very dog friendly and excellent food.Will be coming again.Mike and Birthe

Reviewer:Mr. AMT M | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Une haltedans le Dartmoor - Rating 5/5

Hôtel très agréable ,beaucoup de charme , calme, site exceptionnel .Une très bonne cuisine .

Reviewer:Didier M | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


A beautifully relaxing break for dog lovers - Rating 5/5

The perfect place to come and unwind with your canine friends. A stunning setting in the splendour of Dartmoor with walks in all directions on your doorstep. It is nature and tranquillity at its best.The hotel is extremely friendly, comfortable and your dogs can do no wrong. Thoroughly relaxing for those that wish to get away from it all. Will definitely be returning. Not for non-doggy types seeking a super chic environment!

Reviewer:Mrs. Ellie J | Sat 22nd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay.Very comfortable roomWith excellent breakfast.The staff were all very friendly, attentive and professional.The location and views from the rooms are exactly why Dartmoor is such an atmospheric place to be.We will be back, I'm sure!

Reviewer:John J | Sat 15th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Very good hotel in the middle of Dartmoor - Rating 5/5

We wanted to see the moors so we chose a hotel in the middle of the national park. We loved it very much:friendly staff, local dogs, very clean room, wonderful breakfast. We felt ourselves great.

Reviewer:Ekaterina Z | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


The Best - Rating 5/5

The best and most relaxing hotel on dartmoor, there is nowhere else to compare. Stunning views, an amazing breakfast and staff that only want to help. Perfect!

Reviewer:Andrew D | Thu 13th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Great Hotel, Wonderful place to stay in the middle of the National Park.Dog friendly Hotel with friendly staff.All the other guests were very relaxed and friendly too.We will return.Thank you.

Reviewer:D B | Fri 7th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


4night,stay- with our dogs - Rating 5/5

Great place to unwind with both our cocker spaniel dogs.Friendly staff and residents from America and Germany.Dog friendly and great food.Had a wonderful stay surrounded by the most beautiful surroundings of Dartmoor National Park.

Reviewer:D B | Fri 7th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Food, staff, room all acceptable. Staff very helpful, food as always was exellent.Have stayed previously and hope to repeat the experience again.

Reviewer:Maurice P | Wed 5th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Summer break in Dartmoor - Rating 5/5

Had a very relaxing stay Fab food and friendly staff as usual We will be back soon

Reviewer:M B | Tue 4th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


1306 - Rating 5/5

Great locationGreat hospitalityGREAT STAY (like every time)Thank you so much!We will come back.

Reviewer:Mr. Hans-Joerg H | Wed 21st Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Where to start!. This was our second visit. We came last year along with our dog Toffee. I can not fault this hotel with it's lovely owners and staff. We had a room again which overlooked the moors, a must if you can. Even though weather was not kind to us, we still had a very relaxed time. Food is top notch. The best and most relaxed dogfriendly Hotel. Our Dog Toffee was extremely spoilt,very chilled and is aloud where ever we are even dining with us (all be it not in main restaurant)but in the bar area, which is really cosy and still enjoying the same menu. We will be returning again next year. What could you wish for more. A stunning Hotel with stunning scenery. Great food. wonderful staff and to top it all we get to spend it with our dog. xx

Reviewer:Mr. debbie| Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic hotel with above and beyond hosts - Rating 5/5

This was our first break with our 5month old son and although apprehensive about the trip we could not have been accommodated for any more than we were. The hotel does not offer room service as standard however they made an exception for us and brought our dinner up to our room which meant our baby could sleep in his normal routine and we could eat!!The grounds are great for walking and also pram friendly which meant our yorkie had a great holiday as well.We will definitely be recommending this hotel to friends and also plan on coming back here when our son is older and we can explore more.Thank you so much for making our first holiday a happy one with such great memories.

Reviewer:Mrs. Zoe A | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Friendly warm welcome- Rating 4/5

Always a friendly warm welcome, dogs are made most welcome , therefore can't understand why the guest in the next room decided to leave there yapping dog unattended with television on until approximately 10.30/11 pm on our last evening, this is our third stay , and will return , as the location suits us and our spaniels . Excellent food

Reviewer:Mr. RichardBayliffe| Thu 1st Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


What a special place! - Rating 4/5

We stayed here with our Springer spaniel and all 3 enjoyed our stay. Very dog friendly, huge room with amazing view and excellent food. Staff very helpful indeed.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Prince Hall.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team

Reviewer:V | Sat 27th May 2017 | 1 year ago


A great all-round experience - Rating 5/5

Great location, delightfully relaxed atmosphere without compromising on service and efficiency. A great place to relax and unwind in beautiful countryside whilst enjoying delicious food, exquisitely presented, and drink. Thoroughly recommended. Thank you to all at Prince Hall for a lovely time.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team

Reviewer:Mr. Ian E | Wed 24th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Good - Rating 5/5

Very good ecperience

Response

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team

Reviewer:IJsbrand D | Thu 18th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful stay- Rating 5/5

Piece of heaven in Devon.Always brillaint

Response

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team

Reviewer:M | Tue 16th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Character Hotel- Rating 4/5

Excellent base to explore Dartmoor from a charming hotel,great restaurant and lovely staff

Response

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team

Reviewer:Russell G | Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room,friendly staff, superb food, homely atmosphere and great location.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you in the near future.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team.

Reviewer:Mr. MorayA | Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Cosy, comfy excellent food and service. - Rating 5/5

Friendly and relaxed wonderful small hotel.Best cream tea we have ever had. Everything homemade. Tea with proper leaves. Comfortable rooms, fab location. We are not dog lovers so was a bit worried they allow dogs in your room, was worried it may smell of dog but not at all. If you have a dog it's an amazing place to stay but even if you are not a dog lover it is still an amazing place to stay, we loved it.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay, i will pass the thanks of the delicious Cream tea to the kitchen,Kind RegardsChris and the Team

Reviewer:Nicola P | Mon 8th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Excellent location and service. Our dog was royally treated. Breakfast was excellent and the rooms comfortable and cosy. All in all an excellent hotel with great staff and got everything just right.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team

Reviewer:Robert B | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Anniversary stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a beautiful stay. We particularly enjoyed receiving such a warm reception. The surroundings were relaxed but elegant, it was a pleasure to be surrounded by Chris Daly's pottery and photography and the food was exceptional. Thank you!

Response

We are so glad you had a lovely time for such a special occasion. Thank you so much for your Kind comments.We hope to see you again in the future.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team.

Reviewer:B | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Truly magical - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Prince Hall regularly for a number of years, and always arrive with anticipation of having a truly splendid time. We have never been disappointed.

Response

We are always glad to see you all... We are very pleased you enjoyed another stay here at Prince Hall and we hope to see you all again in the future.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gillian Dixie| Fri 28th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


One Night stay - Rating 5/5

We sadly only had one night to stay but it was a fantastic stay.We treated ourselves to bot an sumptuous afternoon tea and Dinner, both of which were excellent, but the really treat was the accommodation and views, stunning views from our Moor view room (Haytor) and equally fantastic from the relaxing lounge and bar (where we ate dinner and breakfast as we had our dogs with us - the dining room also has just as nice views.The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly, and there were lots of nice touches for the dogs - this is a truly dog friendly establishment.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team.

Reviewer:A | Thu 27th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous Hotel and staff - Rating 5/5

We were travelling around Dartmoor and decided to spend the night at Prince Hall. Absolutely loved it from the minute we walked through the door. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. We were given a super king sized room. Most comfortable bed ever!The food is outstanding. The highlight for me was the amazing breakfast. Do try the the toasted tea cakeIt was nothing like I'd ever had before. It's was absolutely delicious. Love the tea in the huge pot. Real tea leaves.Well done Prince Hall. You totally deserve the five stars. My dogs loved it. We loved it. Will be back again.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad you and your furry friends enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team.

Reviewer:Kerry D | Fri 21st Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent staff and very dog friendly!

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team.

Reviewer:James D | Tue 18th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


What a find - Rating 5/5

We stumbled across Prince Hall - a last minute decision to stay in Dartmoor on the way home - the breakfast alone makes this worth a stay! The hotel itself is slightly worn from what was once a grand building but this just adds to the warmth and friendliness of the staff, rather than the stuffiness you might expect from such establishments - I don't give any 5 star reviews but this place demands it - food is incredible - location excellent - cream tea outstanding - gin cocktails worth sampling a few times! We would definitely love to returnThe hotel is very dog friendly - almost encouraged

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to welcome you back soon.Kindest Regards,Chris and the Team.

Reviewer:ben k | Sun 16th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent weekend on Dartmoor with our Labradoodle - Rating 5/5

It was a perfect weekend - the weather, the scenery, the location, the hotel, the food and the friendliness shown towards us and our dog.Would thoroughly recommend and we will be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christina R | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent weekend in Dartmoor with our Labradoodle- Rating 5/5

It was a perfect weekend - the weather, the scenery, the location, the hotel, the food and the friendliness shown towards us and our dog.Would thoroughly recommend and we will be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christina R | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Passing through - Rating 4/5

Sadly arrived too late for dinner but made up for it with an excellent breakfast, looking out at a breathtaking view. Very comfortable.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles M | Sun 9th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Great locations - Rating 4/5

Perfect remote getawaywelcoming to pets and humans great staff sofas and beds everything was so relaxed with an old world comfort

Reviewer:Mark K | Wed 5th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Great weekend - Rating 5/5

Brilliant place, great room, amazing food and friendly, helpful staff. Will definitely be visiting again!

Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, were glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Gilly S | Tue 28th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent dog friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

Always great welcome, service and food. So nice to be able to have meals in bar with your dog. Amazing cream teas!

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay.we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:w | Sun 26th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay what made it even more special was the fact the dog was made so welcome, they provided every thing to make our stay as comfortable as possible

Reviewer:beverley b | Sun 19th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


This is a great gig friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

Beautiful setting, lovely views. Staff made us very welcome. Room was very clean the bed was so comfy. Dexter our boxer had treats left for him in the room. The dinner and breakfast were amazing. Would definitely want to come and stay again

Reviewer:Alan E | Fri 17th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect getaway - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful early new year break at this lovely hotel. Can't recommend highly enough. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our bedroom warm and comfy and fabulous views across the moors. The food was to be commended and the best cream tea we have ever had. My wife started the break with treatments with Rachel's wonderful hands. Even our dog enjoyed his break. Thankyou.....we shall return.....

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Jakeman| Thu 5th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Super visit- Rating 5/5

Booked at last minute . We had an absolutely great visit .We were made to feel so welcome and we loved the views . Great food and eclectic decorations which I loved . I got down and proposed to my partner now fiancée one knee in the little bridge below the hotel .We will be back

Response

Congratulations!! and we were so pleased you said Yes!! :) hope the wedding plans go well and we shall see you both again soon.Kind Regards

Reviewer:Neil Rushton Neil R | Thu 24th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

We spent one night here for a short break and it was excellent, we were all made very welcome especially our dog Eddie.Room lovely and food excellent.We will be back.

Response

Thank you for your review, we are so glad to hear Eddie enjoyed his holiday... we look forward to seeing you all again soon.Kind Regards

Reviewer:Mr. Jason R | Sat 19th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

Most enjoyable and relaxing stay. Great views and excellent for walking on the moor.Hotel staff make you and your dog very welcome. Wonderful food too!

Response

Thank you for your review - we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. look forward to seeing you in the future Kind RegardsSam

Reviewer:Alison W | Sun 6th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Amazing location, hotel, food and staff - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed every aspect of my 2 night stay. The staff are really lovely and friendly, the food is excellent with great choices for vegetarians and the location offers great relaxation. I have booked 4 more nights in Jan 2017. Well done!

Response

Thank you for your review - we look forward to seeing you again in the New Year. I hope you have a wonderful festive season.Kind RegardsSam

Reviewer:Paul P | Tue 18th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Let breakfast be your guide. - Rating 5/5

Breakfast is important if you travel the moors and its quality is a good barometer of an establishment’s attitude to quality, detail and execution. The tea is loose leaf, of good origin and comes with hot water, always an excellent sign. The toast is rough-hewn from a good, local source. Jams are both marmalade and strawberry. The porridge can be had with cream, milk or water and comes in a cute little pot. With the table are fresh-cut flowers in a small bottle shaped vase. The full breakfast is an excellent choice being perfectly cooked, well-seasoned and of a good size. Buttery, folded scrambled eggs with a perfect consistency, a sausage that’s meaty and full of flavour. Lean and smoky bacon complimenting the tomatoes and mushrooms which are sautéed to perfection, firm and with rich depths and salty finish. I am assured, by one who knows these things, that the poached eggs are also close to perfection lacking any trace of vinegar and having exactly the right consistency. The only improvements I could suggest would be the use of linen napkins rather than the paper variety provided.The staff are delightfully friendly, effective and helpful. Dogs are welcome and the house is sheltered from the wilder extremes of the local climate. There are some idiosyncrasies;the breakfast is only available for one hour, though you should absolutely make sure you get it and lounging around in bed would mean missing out on experiencing the moors. The dinner is available for two hours and equally worth the effort to be there. The beds are comfortable, the rooms pleasantly decorated and the general atmosphere is of a relaxed, friendly place delivering an unpretentiously high quality experience to guests. Thus, Prince Hall is a fine establishment, well worth your money and time.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark L | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Honeymoon- Rating 5/5

A warm welcome for us and our (usually) well behaved dog! Haytor was a stunning room- could look at those views all day. Fabulous food and wines with friendly, attentive but not intrusive service.

Reviewer:Mrs. caroline f | Wed 21st Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Beautiful room, delicious food and friendly staff - excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas L | Tue 20th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful, dog friendly hotel in A beautiful setting. - Rating 5/5

The hotel is set in a stunningarea of Dartmoor, with the most wonderful views. The staff were friendly and efficient! Having found such a beautiful, dog friendly hotel will ensure we will return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tracy H | Tue 20th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Engaging place!! - Rating 5/5

Our 3rd visit to this country retreat as a holiday break after a trying 6 months of health issues and scares.Great to be back in this beautiful hotel with its natural surroundings. The quirky building with its eclectic mix of modern and old styles beautifully seamed together make it a great place to explore. No matter what room choose there will be something to inspire or intrigue you.The friendly staff who are attentive but never intrusive, the laid back atmosphere and the complete dog friendly approach make this the perfect canine owners retreat. Our dog Sky loves coming here.The food is exemplary. The chefs put together such an amazing choice of fayre all resourced from local providers that it is a must to dine in the restaurant at least once during your stay. After a vigorous walk across the moor we elected for a cream tea on the outside lawn (scones are to die for) we changed coffee for champagne and in the sunshine I proposed to my partner. This hotel made for the perfect place to do this. My only complaint...not enough stars. For us this hotel would score 10 out 5. Simply excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Martin E | Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Fabulous hotel - Rating 5/5

Welcome, service and food always first class! So nice to be able to bring our dog and for him to be welcome in lounge and in bar when we eat. We will be returning very soon! Lindsay Welch

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony w | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Everything about Prince Hall Hotel is wonderful! Instantly relaxing, incredible food, cozy living room with fire, stunning views, friendly, helpful staff. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Reviewer:Mrs. Monique H | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Fabulous stay! - Rating 5/5

This was booked as a last minute short break to get away and relax.We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay! The welcome was really friendly, our room (Yestor) was large, bright, well appointed and with a stunning view across the moor and the food was absolutely delicious! The chef used local produce, the menu was well thought through and the flavours were amazing.After a long walk on the moors we were only too happy to much our way through the courses and each dish was as good as the previous one.We were sorry to leave but have added this gem of a hotel to the top of our "to return to"list!Next time though we will bring our dog as they are very much included as a guest!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Jodie K | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Reviewed on tripadvisor. Hotel is fantastic,food was exceptional and we liked the way in which our dog was able to be part of the experience he was even able to sit and have dinner with us. Comfortable and big beds and lovely views. We'd definately come back and stay longer next time.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine S | Fri 29th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

If you demand modern chic hotels, without blemish - then this isnt for you.However, if you love a homely, friendly and comfortable hotel then this is a beauty!Right in the middle of the moors with wonderful outlooks, this is a wonderful retreat. Our bedroom was massive, with a good en suite shower room and a view over the moors. We took our dog and he was made to feel very welcome indeed!The staff are very cheerful and helpful. Excellent service. The food is absolutely wonderful - and they have a wonderful supply of different gins!The restaurant is out of bounds for the dogs as is the kitchen (unsurprisingly) but you can eat in the lounge or bar, or leave your dog in the room.The towels in the bathroom were very large and very soft! How wonderful!It is not a cheap hotel, but with the service and the food, it is great for a special occasion or a treat.Wifi is available in the bar area and just outside the front door and is a little shaky - but you are in the middle of a National Park!We had a wonderful time!

Reviewer:Mrs. Brigid B | Thu 14th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Very relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed at Prince Hall for a weekend. The hotel is very comfortable, and very relaxing, a perfect 'home from home', with direct access onto the moors. The rooms have all recently been decorated and our bedroom was quiet, clean and comfortable.Although we do not have a dog, they are very welcome, however they were all kept well under control and only added to the friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

Reviewer:Mrs. Stella K | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Our stay on dartmoor - Rating 5/5

We were very impressed by the staff, food, the hotel in general, we loved the relaxed atmosphere, a dog friendly hotel, we wouldn't hesitate to stay again when in the area, only complaint was the weather😊

Reviewer:Mr. peter a | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


70\'th Birthday Weekend surprise. - Rating 5/5

We both had a very relaxing week-end. Prince Hall is so welcoming-from the moment you step inside the front door. We were in Saddletor at the top of the house-amazing views over the countryside.Home from home with sheep and cows right outside our window!! Wonderful ,wonderful food and very helpful,caring staff.Top marks to you all and THANK YOU.

Reviewer:Mrs. ANNE C | Tue 28th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Father\'s Day Week-end - Rating 5/5

We spent two nights at Prince Hall, having dined there in the past, our room was comfortable, our two Westies were made welcome the food was perfect. Fantastic location. What more could we ask for?

Reviewer:Mrs. Patricia M | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


OUTSTANDING - Rating 5/5

The hotel has 3 wonderful attributes, its location in the moor, how Dog Friendly it is in lots of different ways and the haute cuisine, which made our breakfasts and dinners a real delight. We were so impressed that as we left we booked again for next year. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter B | Wed 15th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Canine heaven - Rating 5/5

A lovely place for a casual, relaxing break with our dogs. Friendly and helpful staff, comfy bed. delicious food and interesting wines.

Reviewer:Dr. Neil W | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Relaxing holiday - Rating 5/5

Fabulous stay as always. All the staff are great. Rooms are lovely, very comfortable. Food is prepared beautifully for all meals. Great wines available. Great for walks across Dartmoor. Took two dogs who had just as lovely a time as we did. If you want a dog friendly hotel this is the only one to try. It's fab!

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline M | Fri 10th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Great relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

Booked this hotel on the basis of past reviews and very impressed. Great hospitality and food in a very peaceful setting with easy access to Dartmoor. Very straightforward to find on the B3352 off the A38. If you are looking to get away for a few days of peace and quiet you won't be disappointed.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian M | Sat 30th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


vegetarian gourmet weekend - Rating 4/5

How wonderful to have a choice of vegetarian dishes, and so much better than the standard default of pasta or risotto! The combination of flavours and textures was exquisite.The hotel also takes dog friendly to a new level with washing facilities and dog towels provided.Only the too soft bed prevents absolute top marks.

Reviewer:Ms. Stella F | Mon 25th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay with fabulous food and very good service in a beautiful part of Dartmoor.Would thoroughly recommend and will be back

Reviewer:Mr. Nick M | Thu 21st Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent hotel! - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay. Great to find a hotel that genuinely welcomes your dog as well. Service and food always first class.

Reviewer:Mrs. LindsayW | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Genuinely dog friendly - Rating 5/5

Our dogs were made as welcome as we were. It was a very relaxing stay with excellant food and room. The setting is suburb with great views and walks straight on to the moors.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris L | Sun 20th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


A thoroughly relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

It's rare to find a hotel which offers its guests total relaxation and this is what we found at The Prince Hall Hotel. No other hotel we've ever stayed in so properly understood our needs as guests travelling with dogs. Wonderful food and wine list too. The staff were professional but relaxed which set the tone for our stay.

Reviewer:Ms. Sarah Jane W | Sun 13th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Relax with good food - Rating 4/5

Remote setting on Dartmoor, ideal base for walking the moors. Hotel accepts dogs so you can take the dog with you and exercise on the moors. Beautiful scenic views from the hotel.Food is excellent with good choice of menu.Staff very friendly and helpful.No phone signal at hotel and tv signal is intermittent. Wi-Fi available with a good signal. Rooms at back of hotel have the best views.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter M | Mon 29th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


A haven for relaxation and rejuvenation - Rating 5/5

Another wonderful stay at the Prince Hall Hotel, we'll be back!

Reviewer:Mr. Julian G | Mon 21st Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Shame about the rain - Rating 4/5

Another excellent stay at Prince Hall despite the persistent rain which hadn't been forecast. At least it gave us an excuse to linger over the breakfast table.Food was superb over our two day stay. If I was being picky I would suggest that poached eggs should be dried better before putting into a bowl shaped plate so that there isn't a pool of water for the bacon to fall into.We had a lovely room at the back of the house with great views through the rain. A shower screen in the bathroom would have been a great addition but we managed very well nonetheless.Overall a great couple of days winding down. Hospitality was superb and we will be coming back.

Reviewer:Dr. Mark L | Mon 23rd Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


November stay - Rating 5/5

Our third visit to Prince Hall Hotel;the food was excellent, as usual. A great winter break.

Reviewer:Miss. Kate R | Fri 20th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Peaceful and olde worlde - Rating 4/5

Charmingly quaint and exceptionally dog friendly.

Reviewer:Mrs. Hazel W | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Lovely ambience and helpful staff - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely anniversary stay all staff exceptionally helpful. Vegetarian food -good selection, flavours a little disappointing.Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. RICHARD D | Wed 2nd Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Yes Tor room - stunning and serene views. - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay in a beautiful location. Stunning views, well presented and comfortable rooms, very friendly and approachable staff. The food was amazing without being pretentious or stuffy. My favourite remains the cream porridge for breakfast which filled me up till lunch. We will definitely stay again, hopefully with our own dog this time!

Reviewer:Mrs. Holly C | Wed 19th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


A wonderful hotel - Rating 5/5

We knew Prince Hall from several visits for morning coffee or afternoon tea so we knew we liked the service and the feel of the hotel.On this occasion we stayed for dinner, bed &breakfast to celebrate a family birthday.It really was perfect:very comfortable, large, unfussy, tranquil accommodation;delicious food and excellent table service;beautiful surroundings.What we particularly like about Prince Hall is the way it combines informality with smartness.The balance is perfect.Please don't change a thing!We'll definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne A | Wed 5th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Perfect Country Escape - Rating 5/5

Picture perfect views, always a friendly greeting from all the warm hosts, excellent table service- a wonderful to truly relax. We stayed in the Shepherds hut and the bed sheets were wonderfully comfy. It could do with a few updates in there (new hot water bottles and a scrub of the outdoor furniture) but a thoroughly enjoyable stay and the food was 10/10 as always. See you again!

Reviewer:Miss. Harriet G | Sat 30th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Prince Hall Hotel - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location,very well appointed rooms, ours had a beautiful view down to the West Dart. The food was exceptional, almost worth coming for the food alone. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.Highly recommended for that special get-away break, especially if you have a dog.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian M | Thu 28th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Wow! - Rating 5/5

Amazing, loved the dogs roaming free and the food was just "wow".Can't wait to go back (with dog this time)!

Reviewer:Mr. Darren N | Tue 5th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Had a very relaxing few days. Super food and very friendly place

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennifer H | Fri 17th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


A marvellous break - Rating 5/5

Our stay was soooooo relaxing:comfy beds, cosy lounge, friendly and helpful staff and yummy food! What more could anyone want?

Reviewer:Mr. Julian G | Mon 13th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Hidden Delight - Rating 5/5

I have stayed in many hotels claiming to be dog friendly, this hotel surpasses that on every level. My partner and I were greeted by Fi and her 3 dogs in a very warm reception. We chattedin the hallway before being shown to our room. Burrator complete with a 7 ft 4 poster bed which I might add was just so comfortable. Our dog had a treat left on the side for her and some house rules for the dog these mainly tell you what facilkities there are for your stay, hosepipe for the washing of muddy paws, towels for drying the pet, how to get out in the middle of the night should you require it and even that the staff will comfort your dog should they get lonely whilst you're dining.The Breakfast is substantial all cooked to order without a buffet in site. The evening meals, pre dinner canapes and desserts are to to die for - a true fine dining experience in a cosy but elegant dining area. My compliments to Luke who made the best Haddock and Prawn Risotto I have ever tasted.The whole place is set off road in the heart of Dartmoor, quiet and tranquil with just the sound of birds to break the silence. The night sky was awesome - so many stars.We spent two nights here and after dinner retired to te main drawing room to sit by the open fire with the dog. The coldness of the moor completely shut out by the large shutters that cover the window. A beautiful 14th century building in perfect surroundings. The staff are always pleasant, polite and professional. Their mis an air of friendliness that makes you feel special, part of a family. I cannot thank Fi and Chris and their superb staff for making our stay as enjoyable as it was. We will definitely return to this gem of a place.

Reviewer:Mr. Martin E | Mon 23rd Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


What a wonderful break - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality, the food and the wine delivered by Prince Hall.Thank you for looking after us and the dogs so well.We can't wait to return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane H | Tue 9th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


stunning views and location - Rating 5/5

an absolutely idyllic Hotel, a very warm welcome and superb room with stunning views, excellent food and service and just wish we could have stayed for longer

Reviewer:Mr. Stewart H | Sat 8th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Warm and welcoming - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time.Our dog came too and he loved the fuss from the staff.Excellent hospitality and food, comfortable bed - very peaceful, great walks from the hotel and comforting open fires enjoyed with very substantial and tasty cream tea - we were spoilt.

Reviewer:Mr. Nick H | Tue 28th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Excellent in ever way - Rating 5/5

Delicious food, welcoming staff and a characterful hotel set in beautiful countryside.

Reviewer:Mr. Sean L | Thu 9th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Perfect Long Weekend - Rating 5/5

The hotel looks beautiful inside and out.There are plenty of comfortable sofas and chairs in the two lounge areas to snuggle up in of an evening.The fire place in the lounge was wonderful and warming after a freezing cold and soaking wet August bank holiday (typical British summertime!).The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable.The shower pressure was fine although the temperature does change (the water for the hotel comes from their own well).The highlight by far was the food.We had opted for the breakfast and three course dinner every day and my oh my it was wonderful.There were plenty of breakfast options.The dinner menu changes daily and we always looked forward to going down to read the menu.The portions are perfect - not too large but certainly do not leave you feeling hungry.The hotel is a perfect base for exploring Dartmoor and is set in the most beautiful scenery.We would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Miss. Jennifer E | Thu 28th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Delightful - Rating 5/5

Great food, very comfortable beds, friendly, efficient staff and a get away from it all location. The perfect antidote to todays 24/7 lifestyle.

Reviewer:Mr. John S | Tue 26th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


5th stay - as good as the rest! - Rating 5/5

Our 5th and definitely not our last visit to Prince Hall Hotel! Great moorland view from the bedroom and fantastic food. We love being able to take our dogs with us and they couldn't be more dog friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil T | Tue 26th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Warm welcome, wonderful food - Rating 5/5

We stayed four nights and enjoyed four of the finest meals we have had anywhere. Plus cosy room with four-poster bed, and VIP treatment for our dog Josephine. A real treat.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark T | Thu 14th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Holidays like a lord - Rating 5/5

Thank you for the friendliness and helpfulness. At your wonderful building we felt like moved to ancient times. We liked your beautiful rooms very much and your breakfast and dinner was wonderful!

Reviewer:Mrs. Ursula M | Mon 21st Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Prince Hall Hotel - Rating 5/5

We found the hotel and staff very friendly and welcoming who would do anything to help.The food was first-class.We would definitely visit you again in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Raymond B | Sun 29th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed for two nights with our two Jack Russells in the Houndtor room.This was a superb, large room with fantastic moorland views.The food was excellent, beautifully presented,absolutely fresh and frankly mouth watering - every meal was brilliant.The service was outstanding - attentive yet discrete, professional, friendly and always available. Nothing was ever too much trouble.The hotel accommodates dogs really well - treats, towels, baggies etc. The restaurant is obviously dog free but the rest of the premises never appeared overly 'doggie', always very clean and calm.Expensive but definately value for money. Can't wait to go back.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon M | Fri 27th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Gourmet food - Rating 5/5

Fabulous relaxing small hotel set in themidst of dartmoor. Very welcoming staff to us and our two retrievers. The rooms are big and the food amazing. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline M | Tue 3rd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Great food, superb views - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome and excellent food and service. Idyllic location with superb views over moor. Decor a little tired but very comfortable. Work in progress recovering from winter storms. More than 4 star but not quite 5

Reviewer:Mr. Rob P | Sun 18th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

This is a most delightful establishment... even without a dog! The country setting, informality, delicious food, welcoming staff, and cozy fireplace room make it a perfect getaway.

Reviewer:Ms. Laura M | Sat 10th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Four days of perfection - Rating 5/5

We loved every minute if our stay. Particular kudos to Judith and Dan, but the entire staff were wonderful. We LOVED our guided walks with Elaine and Richard. The room (Burrator) was perfect. The food was uniformly excellent. We will highly recommend Prince Hall and hope to return. Thank you!

Reviewer:Mr. David N | Mon 5th May 2014 | 4 years ago


great return visit... - Rating 5/5

we weren't disappointed by our second visit. We had a warm welcome from the team. Siran enjoyed his dog treats and we loved the restaurant. Will be back for a third. Hope we left you some wine!! LOL

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean P | Mon 28th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Anniversary Surprise - Rating 5/5

Having so enjoyed living near the Moor as a young, newly married couple, it seemed fitting that we return 21 years later to celebrate, to savour those memories and retrace our steps. To do so in such idyllic, friendly and homely luxury just made the whole experience that much more special. The welcome, care and quality of food and service were superb. We loved our stay and will be back. I may even be allowed to sneak my fly rod in next time. Thanks so much! :-) Kurt, Tanya and Pops (the dog).

Reviewer:Mr. Kurt E | Sun 20th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Perfect break - Rating 5/5

Our two-night stay at Prince Hall was all that we hoped - even the weather was reasonably kind. The welcome was warm and relaxed, the room spacious and very comfortable and the peace and scenery just perfect. As serious food lovers we were bowled over by the cooking and rate the chef and his team as 5 star. Being able to walk straight out on to the moor with the dog was a real break - no need to get in the car. We loved the comfy unpretentious country-house feel of the furnishings - the sofas were to die for. We will try and come back sooner rather than later and certainly recommend the Hall to others.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael W | Sun 2nd Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Relaxing break - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fantastic weekend break;cosy sofas, excellent food, and made to feel very welcome throughout. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. James B | Tue 25th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


January break - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable from start to finish. Made to feel welcome throughout. Will return!

Reviewer:Mr. Jamie C | Sun 19th Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Laundry
  • Ironing Service
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Massage
  • Horse Riding
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat